top of page

Artisan hunt : Babbarra Women's Centre

I'm always on the search for new and wonderful textiles, the more culturally aligned to the country of origin the better.

On my search, I came across fabrics designed by women from the Babbarra Women's Centre , and I have to say... I'm in love!!!!!

The Babbarra Women's Centre supports the economic independence of Indigenous women in the Arnhem Land community of Maningrida, Arnhem Land, Australia. To say their colourful bold prints are beautiful, would be a serious understatement.

In Australia and around the world, Indigenous women are among the most marginalised and disadvantaged of all social groups. They are also the most economically vulnerable.

Bábbarra Women’s Centre works to change this narrative. A core objective since its inception has been to enable women to gain economic independence. Financial independence empowers women to make decisions that impact their own well-being and that of their families, communities and ancestral lands.

Unfortunately after some serious calculations and finger counting, I just couldn't find a way to stock these beauties, but....in my imagination I'll be twirling in a gown made from the beautiful fabrics designed by the women of the Arnhem Land.

Of course in reality (when I open my eyes), I'll just be changing nappies and breastfeeding.

https://babbarra.com/

https://www.facebook.com/babbarradesigns/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page